Oh, Do Remember Me

forgetful-person-e1378483661197

From purposebeyondpain.com

There’s an old spiritual (later sung by Johnny Cash of all people) that has the simple chorus “Do, Lord, Oh Do, Lord, Oh Do remember me, way beyond the blue.”  This song’s been stuck in my head the last few days. I think that might be partially why I’m writing about it.

Memory is so very important. I know that I’m quite forgetful. Like really forgetful. Not Dory forgetful but still forgetful. I jot things down to remember them and forget where I jotted them down. As human beings, we only have so many things we can retain in our mind. We only have so much space to have for our memory, both long term and short term.

I don’t know how memory works, all I know is that if I don’t do something on a regular basis, I forget. I used to speak a smattering of Spanish almost 20 years ago. Why? Because growing up in So Cal, I learned it from the votos and neighbors of mine. I spoke it okay enough to get by. But now I only know how to say that I don’t know how to speak Spanish. And maybe a few cuss words. Yet I still remember my Greek and Hebrew from seminary because I try to use it as much as possible.

Memory is a funny thing really. We think that if we tend to forget, then others will too. Even God. We tend to forget what God has done for us in the past. We tend to forget His faithfulness in the past and then we think He’ll forget about us in the present. We cry out that He remembers us. Especially in times of trial. We cry out wanting Him to remember us when things are tough. “Where are you God?”

We think that God has forgotten. But He hasn’t. God never forgets His people. All who call on the name of Jesus have the promise to always have God with them, there for him, belonging to him.

I love what Psalm 32 says

You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance.” Psalm 32:7

God remembers. He remembers beyond the blue. That is, He remembers us in good times and bad, in joy and sadness, as He rules the universe from His throne. But not just that, He is God and is everywhere as well. That’s the awesome thing about being God. He’s outside of time and space and can be present with you in times of trouble, remembering you and comforting you.

There is great comfort found in Jesus. A comfort in life and in death, body and in soul. It’s a comfort we receive because God is the God of all comfort, the Father of Compassion. He remembers us even when we don’t remember him.

Never forget this. He remembers you. He calls you by name and remembers you. Not just that, but he will be present with you and is present with you in all circumstances.

And so, we sing with that spiritual, “Do Lord, oh Do Lord, Oh Do remember me.” Because we know with assurance that He does, will, and continue to do so.

Where do you need to remember that today? Live it today and remember that God will never forget you but will always be with you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

