I Won’t Do That

So last night my wife and I had an in depth conversation to which we came at an impasse. And, of course, the best way to deal with it was to post the argument onto Facebook.

FB do anything for loveTo be honest, a quick look at the lyrics would’ve solved the debate right there…kinda. In the song by Meatloaf (who’s a vegetarian by the way) I Would Do Anything for Love, but I Won’t Do that, he goes into detail of all the things he’d do for love.

And I would do anything for love
I’d run right into hell and back
I would do anything for love
I’d never lie to you and that’s a fact
But I’ll never forget the way you feel right now,
Oh no, no way
And I would do anything for love, but I won’t do that
No, I won’t do that

So, basically, he’d go to hell and back but won’t forget her…well more forget how she feels (and I’m not thinking he means emotionally). Sounds nice…I guess…a little creepy maybe.

But listening to the song again (after a number of years because it’s on cassette and I don’t know where it’s at or how to play it so I got it on iTunes) I began to wonder if that is truly the “that” he wouldn’t do. And why wouldn’t he do that?

The song goes on

Some days I pray for silence
Some days I pray for soul
Some days I just pray to the god of sex and drums and rock ‘n’ roll
Some nights I lose the feeling
Some nights I lose control
Some nights I just lose it all when I watch you dance and the thunder rolls
Maybe I’m lonely, that’s all I’m qualified to be
That’s just one and only, the one and only promise I can keep

So, in other words, he’s lonely and needs someone in his life and so he won’t let her go and so he will do anything for love so he won’t be lonely. But he does have a line he has drawn. So what is the “that” he won’t do?

That’s when the awesome lady’s voice kicks in and asks him questions of what he would and wouldn’t do. To be honest it assumes a lot about what’s expected in this relationship. It’s really one sided in many ways.

Will you raise me up? will you help me down?
Will you get me right out of this godforsaken town?
Will you make it all a little less cold?

Will you cater to every fantasy I got?
Will you hose me down with holy water, if I get too hot?
Will you take me places I’ve never known?

He’ll do all that, and more. Why? Is it because he’s lonely? Is it because he says a bit earlier that the only one who could save him was his the woman he loves?

So what is the that? His love then doubts his love, she expects him to be a bad partner in this relationship

After a while you’ll forget everything
It was a brief interlude and a midsummer night’s fling
And you’ll see that it’s time to move on

I know the territory, I’ve been around
It’ll all turn to dust and we’ll all fall down
Sooner or later you’ll be screwing around

No. Of course not. He’ll do anything for love but he won’t do that. So…does that mean he’ll do anything for love but he won’t cheat and therefore cheating is doing something for love? Is forgetting her and leaving her something to be done for love?

Dude, I’m confused.

FB do anything for love2To be honest, this really does seem to be like a desperate one sided relationship. He wants to be loved by someone and is willing to whatever she asks so he won’t be lonely. Now, don’t get me wrong, seems like she needs someone in her live as well. Yet, the dude really seems totally desperate and lonely.

I think in many ways, we get lonely. We so want someone in our lives. Someone to love us. Someone to care for us. Someone to be there for us in all of our ups and downs. We so want to be loved, so desperate for affection we’ll do anything for love…but we won’t do that…that one thing that’ll make us lonely.

And that’s the one thing this guy won’t do. He will do anything for love but he won’t allow himself to be alone.

Now this is where you might expect me to say something about in Jesus we’re never alone and stuff like that about how we’re loved by Him and what not. And that’s true. But to be honest, we are human beings made to be in relationship with others. Yet because this world is so twisted and broken by sin, we desperately try to find that affection we so desire, to fill a hole in our souls that we so feel we need to fill because we do. We become so desperate not to be alone that we’ll do anything for love but be lonely.

It’s okay if you don’t have someone right now (says the married dude). It’s okay to not be “with someone.” The biggest thing is that in our loneliness, we seek out anything we can for affection. Don’t do that. Desperation makes for bad decisions and worse relationships.

So, be willing to do anything for love, but just don’t do that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

