Highly Trained Laser Guided Ninja Monkeys

Sometime last week I tweet out a simple question:

monkey tweetAnd this was one of the responses:

laser guided monkeyHow awesome is that!

To have all that technological monkey awesomeness at one’s disposal is just mind boggling. Of course, with great power(ful monkeys) comes great responsibility.

Of course, having laser guided ninja monkeys won’t solve all the problems. In fact, it could bring more with it. To have all that at one’s finger tips isn’t a good idea. Not at all. To tell the truth, with that power, it really should be reverse. I mean, instead of doing something…like taking over the world…one should look at the responsibility and see how they can help others with the highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys.

I like this:

Better to be lowly in spirit along with the oppressed, than share plunder with the proud.” Proverbs 16:19

Maybe the highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys might be better used for something along those lines.

I also like this one too:

“Better a patient person than a warrior, one with self-control than one who takes a city.” Proverbs 16:32

I’d think that without self-control and self-discipline having highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys might be a bad thing. There’s so much you could do to wreck havoc with these things. Someone cuts you off in traffic–send in the monkeys. Someone has more than 12 items in the 12-items-or-less lane at the grocery store–send in the monkeys. Someone doesn’t conjugate the verb “to be” correctly–send in the monkeys. The possibilities for abuse of the highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys is almost limitless.

Self-control and self-discipline would be needed if I had highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys, that’s for sure. But it’d also take a lot of love and patience not to unleash the monkeys on a whim and will. It’d take kindness and gentleness to not only not unleash the monkeys but to do more than just restrain them but instead do good with them.

Paul writes (not so much about the use of highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys but about showing you belong to Jesus)

The fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control.” Galatians 5:22-23

There’s that self-control again. But this time it’s wrapped up in other things too. The self-control is wrapped up in goodness and kindness, peace and patience, love and joy.

So, if I had highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys I don’t think I could use them at will on whom and where I chose. I’d have to use them for good, and not just good, but real good, like Jesus good, like Jesus great. I’d have to use the highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys to serve others as Jesus served, in love and humility. That’s a lot of responsibility as a follower of Jesus and owner of highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys. Heck, that’s a lot of responsibility without the monkeys to begin with.

James writes

Faith, by itself, it it is not accompanied by action, is dead…As the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without deeds is dead.” James 2:17,26

So, even without highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys there is a call to do more than just walk around like I’m all cool and filled with awesomesauce. There’s a higher calling, a higher ethic, a higher above board living. And if you toss in the highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys that makes the call even more pressing because then I’d have the tools to actually do something.

To be honest, I think I already have the tools to do stuff without the highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys. I’ve already been given what I need to do what Jesus requires. And because I already have been given the tools I need, I need to use them in whatever capacity I can.

Having highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys would be cool, but there’s not much I could really do with them. And cleaning up after them…don’t get me started.

You don’t need highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys to serve others in Jesus’ name. In fact, you’ve already been given the tools to serve him. If you’re a follower of Jesus, you’re called to something greater and higher. You’re called to a life of service because you have been given something great and are called to use it in the name of Jesus to do something great. You’ve been given great tools and gifts to serve Jesus by serving others.

So, how’re you going to do that?

And no, as I’ve sadly learned, there are no such thing as highly trained laser guided ninja monkeys…the military and government keep telling me so and to stop asking or they’ll send them after me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

