God of Brilliant Lights

Dark_Side_of_the_Moon

From Wikipedia

Somewhere between birth and death there is awesome. You may not see it right away. You may not always experience it. But it’s there. And the awesome invades every aspect of the time between birth and death if you let it. The thing is, is that you have to allow yourself to experience the awesome. It’s there. It’s always there. It will always be there too.

There are many who refuse to experience the awesome of life. There are many who refuse to let the awesome take hold and allow them to enjoy that small moment between birth and death. Others on the other hand embrace the awesome. Some with a little hesitation while others with gusto.

I try to live in that awesome each day. It gets me into trouble sometimes. It gets me into situations where I’d not be if I hadn’t grabbed the awesome with gusto. I have a habit of going off the trail when hiking. I’ve gotten hurt doing so. But I always tell people that the view is always worth it. I want to know life. I want to know what this world is. For this short time between birth and death, I want to know this awesome and have it permeate my very being.

There is a reason why I want this awesome. It is because of the God of brilliant lights.

Kind David wrote once

The life of mortals is like grass, they flourish like a flower of the field; the wind blows over it and it is gone, and its place remembers it no more. But from everlasting to everlasting the Lord’s love is with those who fear him, and his righteousness with their children’s children.” Psalm 103 15-17

Though there is that short period between birth and death, there is a God who is from everlasting to everlasting. He is this awesome I crave. He is this awesome that I so desire to permeate my very existence. He is the God of brilliant lights. And I want to be in this light.

The Apostle John wrote once

If we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.” 1 John 1:7

I want to be in the light as he is in the light. I want to walk like a star in the heavens. I want the God of brilliant lights to shine down upon me. I want to be active in this awesome which exists beyond that short time between birth and death.

Here’s the thing: The awesome is there. The God of brilliant lights is here. He is shining down on us. Jesus is in the light, walking with us. At the same time, embrace the awesome. Allow the God of brilliant lights to shine down on you. Allow yourself to walk in the light as Jesus is in the light.

In the grand scheme of life, there is but an instant. Nothing lasts for ever. The money will one day be gone. Life can just be a single drop of water in an endless sea. All we can do is crumble, even when we refuse to see it. As David (and Kansas) says, “we’re just dust in the wind.” Even in being the dust, we can live the awesome. Even in the dust we can experience the awesome.

I want to experience the awesome. I want to live this awesome to the fullest. I want to let the awesomeness of the God of brilliant lights to not only shine down on me but also shine through me. It’s like the Pink Floyd album cover for Dark Side of the Moon. I want the light of Jesus to hit me and then be displayed for all to see, all to experience this awesome.

I’m going to fail. I’m going to mess up. I’m not always going to show it. But I want to. I want to live the awesome. I want to live so that the God of brilliant lights shows through me. I want to live so that the light of Jesus is displayed brilliantly from me.

I’ll stumble sometimes. I’ll mess up sometimes. But I am going to do all I can to live that awesome between birth and death because I know that there is more after the death that I won’t know nor understand this side of glory. All I know is that it will be even more awesomer than it is now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

