Dancin’ on the Other Side

Dancing on the other side 2I have a happy dance.

When things go well; when something great happens; when I get excited about a new opportunity come my way, I like to do a happy dance. I’m weird, I know. Luckily it’s never been caught on camera nor uploaded to YouTube…otherwise I’d die of embarrassment.

But a happy dance is so important. It’s a celebration of something good that’s happened. It’s a celebration of something exciting come your way. And the worse things were before the good news, the happier the happy dance becomes.

I have a go-to Bible passage I read when it’s time to do the happy dance after a hard time (yes, I actually have a verse that I read just for that occasion…it’s better than a Hallmark card). I find it speaks so strongly to me and to God’s deliverance during tough and trying times. It’s the Psalm of the happy dance. It’s all about dancin’ on the other side.

I love these first verses

I will exalt you, Lord, for you lifted me out of the depths…Lord my God, I called to you for help, and you healed me. You, Lord, brought me up from the realm of the dead; you spared me from going down to the pit.” Psalm 30:1-3

God is praised, exalted, because He is a God who acts. He hears. He not only hears but He listens and acts. In times of struggle, I’ve learned to call on Him. I know He acts. I know that He acts on His timing not mine. There are times where I must wait, wait and listen for Him to speak, move, and act. But I know he acts.

What I love is the fact that this psalm isn’t just one person thanking God for acting. It’s a call for all to sing to God for His active role in their lives

Sing the praises of the Lord, you his faithful people; praise his holy name. For his anger lasts only a moment, but his favor lasts a lifetime; weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.” Psalm 30:4-5

Now, this isn’t saying that God is the one who made them bad things happen. Not in the least. God’s anger is at how the world is distorted. His anger is towards how there’s separation between us and Him. His anger is toward how disease, pain, sickness, and other crap hurts and harms us.

In Jesus, this is all gone. That separation between us and God is no more. We have full access to God because of Jesus. That’s why God’s favor lasts a lifetime. That’s why joy comes in the morning. When we weep at night, God weeps with us, and in Jesus, he restores us.

And because of this, we celebrate. We do the happy dance.

You turned my wailing into dancing; you removed my sackcloth and clothed me with joy, that my heart may sing your praises and not be silent. Lord, my God, I will praise you forever.” Psalm 30:11-12

People sometimes say that God doesn’t act. He just sits back and watches from a distance and does nothing. He made the world (maybe a bit half backed) and let it run its course. And then when bad crap happens, people get mad at God for not moving and acting. Others see God as this happy grandpa in the sky who gives gifts and wants us all to be so happy that we all have puppies and all is cool in the world. And when bad things happen, people don’t get why God is doing this to them (or somehow things are reduced to a constant battle between good and evil, but that’s for another post).

Yet, that’s not it. Look at God acting for God acts. When we look for Him acting in our lives, we see that His Holy Spirit is moving. We see Jesus speaking for us on our behalf. We see God at work. And when we see this, we see how He has acted in our lives. We see how he’s moved in our lives to bring us to a point where we can dance on the other side.

So dance! Do the happy dance! Dance on the other side, and praise God for His faithfulness. And if you don’t think you have anything to do the happy dance for, dance anyway, because God has brought you thus far and He’ll stay with you the rest of the journey

So dance!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dancin’ on the Other Side

  1. Doug says:

    as I am an extreme introvert you won’t see me dance, however to this song that relates to this psalm I have been known to visibly sway … https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1cv1tzzgbk

Leave a Reply

