On a Pilgrimage

PilgrimageYou’re on a journey. No, seriously, you are. And you may not even know it. You may not even know that you right now are traveling in this great vast world. From the moment you were born, you started this journey and won’t complete it until the day you die. Each of us have traveled this road we’re on. Some have already seen what’s ahead because they’ve lived the road in the past. It’s not a road that’s a straight line either. It’s filled with mountains, valleys, pitfalls, potholes, and wonderful vistas and views. You may not know what’s around the corner, but if you’re traveling with someone, they might have a better inkling than you do.

There are different paths to travel on this journey as well. In fact, there’s two different paths to tell the truth.

Jesus says this in Matthew

Enter through the narrow gate. For wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it. But small is the gate and narrow the road that leads to life, and only a few find it.” Matthew 7:13-14

There’s that path we take in life. We choose to take the path we’re on. Sometimes we don’t fully realize which path we’re on until later in life. Sometimes we realize it young, other times we see it with older eyes. But still, we realize what path we’re on at one point in time or another. I encourage you to take the narrow path.

On the broad path, you don’t always have a leader, just a crowd. You have others with you who are following someone else who is following someone else. You are together but so alone.

On the narrow path, you become a pilgrim. A pilgrim heading towards a final destination that will be a glorious city. And on the way, you have other pilgrims who walk with you and help each other out to the final destination. Not only that, but there’s a map (the Bible of course). A map that helps us see how to get to that destination. And so, there are experienced pilgrims who are map readers who keep one eye on the map and the other on the road as they walk with fellow pilgrims on the road, on the narrow path.

The narrow path isn’t easy. In fact sometimes the road is treacherous, the way is frightening, but the views are amazing. There are many pilgrims who have gone down the road ahead and are walking with you to navigate the road you’re about to walk on. Their wisdom of the road is so important to young pilgrims to listen to.

I’m one of those pilgrims and I’m on a pilgrimage. I’m heading home. I’ve never been there but I’ve seen glimpses of it. I’ve read about it. And I know of the promises of that home. And I walk with my fellow pilgrims along the way. Now, technically, I’m supposed to be the expert map reader. I’ve studied the map in the original languages. I’ve studied the map from the perspective of better and greater map readers than I. But if I don’t keep one eye on the map and the other on the road, I’ll never get anywhere. And I need the help of fellow pilgrims who know the road better than I. Who’ve been down the road before and are helping me walk with others along the way.

There are other pilgrims with me on this journey. And I encourage them and help them learn to read the map and keep an eye on the road. When they fall into potholes, or when I slip and fall myself, we’re there to help each other up and keep walking down the road.

Where are you at on your journey? Which road are you walking along, the broad or the narrow? Please walk the narrow path. It’s treacherous, it’s dangerous, but man is the view and the destination worth it! Who are your fellow pilgrims along the way? Who is walking with you? Who is helping you? Are you reading the map? Are you keeping an eye on the road?
As I walk this pilgrimage with others pilgrims, I know that I’m not alone. And as I walk this narrow path to my final destination, I know that I grow in each step as I catch glimpses of that celestial city. I don’t know what it’s going to look like, but man, I know it’s going to be awesome!

Are you on a pilgrimage too?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On a Pilgrimage

  1. Pingback: Religion – Pilgrimage – EdRe5S

  2. Pingback: Strumming Along Discipleship | Spiritual Musclehead

Leave a Reply

