It’s Cracked

cracked iphoneI dropped my cell phone yesterday. I’ve dropped it hundreds of times to be sure. Yet this is the first time I cracked the glass. Yep. My iPhone is now cracked. (Note: The image to the left is NOT my phone) And I’m not sure if I’m going to buy another one. First of all I don’t have the spare cash to blow on a new iPhone 5s and the 5c is just cheap looking. For all sense and purposes my phone still works. It just looks ugly.

It makes me think of myself. I’m cracked. I’m a bit messed up. And yet I still work. I’m still functional. Well, for the most part. My ankle hurts when it gets cold due to my breaking the thing back in ’91. My knee hurts form time to time if I don’t use it on a regular basis. And then there’s that cold I think I might have caught from one of my kiddos. But for the most part, I still work. Really. I do. I’m pretty much functional.

We’re all cracked here and there. We’re all a bit broken. We’re broken and not right. And that’s okay. In fact, God chooses to use us anyway, despite our brokenness (remember this is Spiritual Musclehead). He chooses to use us even though we don’t think we’re useable. Even when we don’t think we’re used good rather than usable people, God uses all those things for His glory.

And we know that God works for the good of those who love him” Romans 8:28 NIV 1984

God uses all our brokennesses and all our foibles, warts, mistakes, flaws and all that junk for His glory and for our good. No matter how messed up you might think you are, God is still at work using it for his glory, for his purposes and for your good.

We also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character hope.” Romans 5:3 NIV 1984

In your brokenness, God is at work. God is working and moving in you.

We have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down but not destroyed.” 2 Corinthians 4:7-9 NIV 1984

What are these jars of clay? That’s us. Jars of clay are fragile (fra-gel not fra-gee-lee). They are made of clay. They are breakable. They can get cracked. So can we. Just like my cell phone, we can be messed up. Yet God chooses us to carry around this treasure. What is this treasure? It’s the treasure of the Gospel. For those who belong to Jesus, it is the treasure of the Gospel. The good news. The news that we have salvation found in Jesus. More than that, the good news that God is making all things new again and we will one day be with him again because of what Jesus did for us. What great news! What a great treasure!

And so, things might feel hard pressed. Things might feel difficult. But we’re not abandoned. We’re not left alone. We’re not crushed. God is at work. He is moving. He is alive.

So, you’re cracked right now. That’s okay. We’re all a bit broken here and there. We’re all a bit messed up. That’s okay. We’re all like my cell phone. And no matter how cracked we are. No matter how messed up we are, God’s love is always there for us. And He is at work moving and working for His glory and our good.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

