Week Two, Three Pounds

It’s been two weeks since I started up on Weight Watchers again. It’s been tough. I went on a youth retreat this weekend with amazing food and great snacks. If you have a youth group retreat, you need cookies and sugary snacks. And it was tough. I kept munching. And my points kept going down and down. Before I had left, I weighed myself and I was doing good. I came back that Sunday and weighed myself again. Not so good. Very happy that I lost two pounds when I weighed myself this morning and tracked it.

As I reflect on my weight loss challenge to myself, I wonder how well I’m doing. I want to be healthy. A healthy leader starts with being healthy physically. It starts with taking care of myself. Now, to be honest, I haven’t really exercised all that much since I’ve been out in Michigan. Of course, I didn’t really exercise much leading up to our move out here either. Eating right is important. So is exercise. And I need to get back at it once again.

It’s a habit I need to get into once again. And habits like these are hard to do. Why? Because they are thing we need to make a conscious decision to do. I need to consciously place it as something important to do in my life.

I pray almost every day. I spend time in reading Scripture and daily prayer. But that didn’t come easy. Now if I don’t do it first thing, I feel like my day is incomplete. I’ve been taking care of myself spiritually but I haven’t been taken care of myself physically.

Am I being too hard on myself? Probably. I beat myself up when I look on my day and see my log of what I read. Usually too much crap to tell the truth. I try to eat well, but then I have a lunch meeting. Or I cave in and have a dessert. Or I just graze on things during the day. Bad habits.

Bad habits are things that I need to consciously get out of as well.  I need to work hard on not doing things. And it’s hard. Good habits take time to get into and are easy to get out while bad habits are easy to get into and hard to get out of.

So I soldier on. I move forward. I need to make good healthy choices–physically, emotionally, and spiritually. And I do my best. Do I get hard on myself? Yep. Should I? That depends. It’s important to me and I want to make sure that I do it. So I’ll do it. And hopefully in three months I can blog about how well I’ve been doing. Let’s see.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

