One Week, One Pound

weight watchers ppWell, it’s been a week since I started up Weight Watchers (again). And to tell the truth, I did a poor job on it. I hate hamburgers. I ate bacon cheeseburgers. I ate chocolate chip cookies (and I don’t think those chocolate chip cookies really were worth 2 points). I ate ice cream (and not the Weight Watchers kind either). But I did eat more apples. I did eat those Healthy Choice steamers lunches. I ate some good food too. But still I only lost one pound.

Now, my wife on the other hand this morning said very cheerfully “You lost weight!” And yes, that’s true. And I have to remember that. I lost weight. I lost weight. I lost weight. I lost a pound of weight. But it’s still weight that I lost. Good reminder.

So what’s next? I’m staying on this thing for at least 3 months. I did the whole three month deal that they had. If Jenifer Hudson and Sir Charles Barkley can do it, so can I, right? I have a small goal. And I’m sure I can hit it in 3 months. I have larger goals too. Those though will have to weight. It’s done in small steps not in big leaps.

Now I just need to get into exercising. That’ll help too. That’ll help with the weight loss. Problem is, is that I left my punching bag and weight bench in South Dakota because I had no room for them in our new place here in western Michigan. And the gyms out here are expensive. And of course, walking is free…but it’s sooo cold out now. And I’m making excuses.

So I’m staying on it. I’m gonna do it. I’m gonna do this thing and loose the weight I gained over the last number of months.

A few things I’ve noticed though:

One thing is how expensive healthy items are compared to not so healthy items. The things that have the least amounts of points in grocery stores are usually the more expensive items verses the cheaper items which have the more points.

I’ve also noticed that the chicken sandwiches at McDonald’s are at least the same if not more points than the burgers. I thought chicken was supposed to be healthier. But for some reason a Big Mac is less points than than a grilled chicken club at McD’s.

And the reduced fat banana chocolate chip coffee cake is the same amount of points as the pumpkin loaf at Starbucks. So not fair. So not cool.

Odd.

Well, I don’t make the points, I live by them now. I will question the validity of it but I’ll also try to do better this week. We’ll see.

Until then, I solider on trying my best to be healthy physically, emotionally and spiritually.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Week, One Pound

  1. Corry Oosterhouse says:

    Josh–just hang in there! You can do it! It’s better to lose weight slowly than fast. It took me a year to lose my 35-40 lbs. It came off slowly too but it stayed off–13 years later I’m still Lifetime and below my goal weight!! I feel so much better than I did back then! In 2008 I was diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma and in addition to the Lord’s healing, I credit my weight loss with WW in my recovery! I was already eating more healthy, exercising regularly, etc. It all helped!! Ed and I walk at Rivertown Mall at 7:00 AM every week day! Come join us!:-)

Leave a Reply

