The Mind of Christ

Mind of Christ graphic2I don’t know why I didn’t catch it before. I’m not sure why my eyes and mind and heart skipped over it the last few times I read through it. Maybe it’s because I’m reading in a new Bible. Maybe it’s because it’s an updated version of the NIV (Recently the NIV updated from the 1984 edition to the 2011 edition).  Maybe it’s just because I just caught it at a different time in my life. But I read something I hadn’t read before.

The person with the Spirit makes judgments about all things, but such a person is not subject to merely human judgments, for,’Who has known the mind of the Lord so as to instruct him?But we have the mind of Christ.” 1 Corinthians 2:15-16

He who has known the mind of the Lord. We can’t know the mind of God. His ways are higher than our ways. His thoughts are higher than our thoughts (Isaiah 55:8). Yet we can know the mind of Christ.

Wow! Dude! Amazing stuff here!

Not just know the mind of Christ but have the mind of Christ. Think about that. If we think like Jesus thought, we can act like Jesus acted. And he came as a servant. He came to serve others.

Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus: Who being the very nature God, did not consider equality of God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant.” Philippians 2:5-7 (NIV ’84)

Attitude is everything. Attitude is something small that leads to big consequences. What your attitude is leads to how you act. How you act leads to your character and your interactions with others. And character matters. When we have the attitude of Christ, when we have the mind of Christ, when we think as Christ thought, we are able to act like Christ acted and take on the character of Jesus. Wow.

But this is hard work. This takes time. This takes practice. And we are to meditate on it. What are we to meditate on?

Whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things….put it into practice. And the God of peace will be with you” Philippians 4:8-9

When we meditate on these things and put them into practice we are able to have the mind of Jesus. We are able to think as he thought. To be as he was and is. To be Jesus to others. To live as Jesus lived.

And this can be all yours if you have the mind of Christ.

But can you do that? I know I struggle with it. I struggle day in and day out with it. But one thing I’ve learned. There is do or do not, there is no try (thank you Yoda for that one). It is something that I have to constantly decide to do. It is something that I have to constantly think up on and do each day. Each day I must choose to think as Jesus thought. Each day I must choose to have the attitude of Jesus and act as he acted. And this is hard work. But when I trust in God, by the power of His Holy Spirit, I can do all things through Jesus who gives me strength (Philippians 4:13).

So what about you? Will you choose today to have the mind of Christ? Will you choose today to live as Christ lived? To think as he thought? To have His attitude? I encourage you to live today in Jesus and think as he thought so you can live as he lived and have his attitude. And you will see life from a different point of view.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

