Refocusing Our Spiritual ADD

squirrelI’ve been reading through Jesus Calling by Sara Young for my devotions. She writes it as if Jesus is speaking directly to you. They’ve been a great read for me and an even greater help in certain times. I caught something interesting this morning when I read

Waiting in my presence keeps you connected to me, aware of all that I offer you. If you feel any deficiency, you need to refocus your attention on me. This is how you trust in me in the moments of your life.

This got me thinking about spiritual ADD. Being ADD myself, I know what it means to loose focus on something, to become easily distracted. Squirrels are my biggest issue. For some reason they just distract me. Hammy the Squirrel from Over the Hedge is probably the greatest example of what ADD is for people at times.

Spiritual ADD is more than that. It’s not focusing on the power of the Holy Spirit. It’s not focusing on Jesus and what he has done for you. It’s not focusing on God’s plan in your life. It’s being so distracted that you get entangled in the problems of things all around you and loose focus.

But we read that we’re to focus on Jesus. On what he does; on what he did for us.

let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles. And let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the pioneer and perfecter of faith” Hebrews 12:1-2

We’re to focus. Focus on Jesus. Fix our eyes upon him. Keep him the main focus. And when we don’t keep him the main focus, we get easily entangled by things around us. We get easily entangled in what happens around us.

That’s why I like what Sara Young wrote when she said that we are to refocus our attention on Jesus when things get tough. One of the ways in which things get tough is when we loose focus of the main thing–Jesus. Things get tough when we stop walking towards Jesus and get distracted.

Refocusing is hard. It takes a conscious choice. Before I went on ADD meds a few years ago, I spent a number of years working on behavioral modification. I worked on being focused. I worked on being structured. It was hard work. I had to be aware of myself. Aware of my surroundings, aware of who I was and am in order to modify my behavior. And it was exhausting. I finally went on medication for ADD and am glad I did.

There is no meds for spiritual ADD, but we do have the power of the Holy Spirit who helps us focus. But we must choose to listen to him. We must choose to hear him. We must choose to follow his promptings. When we start feeling distant, we need to refocus on listen to him. When we start feeling our own personal deficiencies and begin to despair over what is and not what can be, we need to refocus our attention on Christ, the author and perfector of our faith.

This take effort on our part and the power of the Holy Spirit on God’s part. But we must choose to refocus. If we don’t choose to refocus, the Holy Spirit will keep talking to us, but we’ll begin to not listen. And that’s bad. Jesus will continue to walk with us, but we’ll try to walk faster than him and distance ourselves from him. God will try to pursue us but we’ll hide. All because we’ve gotten distracted by spiritual squirrels in life.

So if you’re feeling despondent right now, if you’re feeling spiritual distracted, come to God through Jesus by the power of the Holy Spirit and refocus. He is always there. He is always present. He is always with you. And he will never leave you. Refocus. Don’t allow spiritual ADD to get in the way. Refocus on Him.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Refocusing Our Spiritual ADD

  1. Pingback: Spiritual Multitasking | Spiritual Musclehead

Leave a Reply

