Childlike wonder

Sunrise-and-Clouds1My 7 year-old son likes to come with me when he can when I take Strawberry for her walks. Strawberry is part husky and so she likes to pull and walk fast (I’m working on training her not to do that though). I also like to keep a brisk pace (long legs will do that to you). But my son likes to walk slowly. It’s a hard combination when you have a fast walking dog and guy like me with a small young man like him. I constantly stop and wait for my son to catch up. There are many times where he is just plain silent that I look over my shoulder to make sure he’s still there.

And then, the other night, while we were taking Strawberry for a walk, my son said something that just melted my heart “Dad,” he said very serious like, “you know why I walk so slowly?” I thought for a moment and responded “No, why don’t you let me know.” He then smiled and said “It’s because I love looking at God’s creation. He created all these things. The trees and the flowers and the grass. He made them all. Isn’t it wonderful?”

It makes me wonder when was the last time I truly looked around at this world in childlike wonder? When was the last time I truly just stood there in awe of what God has made and created.

Back last year when we were camping in the Black Hills, we took the Iron Mountain Road. I drove, knuckles white with the hair pin turns in our Dodge Journey. I didn’t pay attention to the view. Then the next day we took the Needles Highway. I was concerned about falling off the edge of the cliff I looked ahead and not down. I didn’t enjoy what God had created.

And this last June, when my folks came out to visit us in South Dakota, we took them to the Badlands. There I experienced the vision and the glory of God’s creation. I stood in awe of it. But we were hurried because we only had a limited amount of time and had to hurry home soon.

When was the last time I stood in awe and wonder, not hurried, but moving slowly?

And then I read this in my devotions this morning from Sara Young’s Jesus Calling

Learn to enjoy life more. Relax, remembering that I am God with you. I crafted you with enormous capacity to know me and enjoy my presence…When  you walk through a day with childlike delight, savoring every blessing, you proclaim your trust in me, your ever present shepherd.

I want to enjoy the life given to me more, not walking around so fast and quickly that I ignore what God has placed in front of me. Not waking around so fast that I neglect to see the glory he has made. I want to know Him more. I want to see His works around me.

When was the last time you stood and looked at the world in childlike wonder at the amazing things God has made?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

