Be still

firefliesBack when we went camping in the Black Hills, I took my kiddos for a very long hike. Longer that we had anticipated. And during that time, we had visitors of the stinging kind–bees and yellow jackets. Scared the snot outta my kiddos. And so I taught them something I had to learn when I faced my fears (particularly when I meet the kinds with stingers and buzz). I taught them to say to themselves “Be still and know that I am God.” And so, during our hike, I heard that a lot.

Fast forward now to the present. We recently moved from Corsica, SD to Hudsonville, MI. The other night, my son came running down stairs when he should have been in bed. He came running down excited late at night. “Dad, Dad! There’re glow beetles outside!” Glow beetles? Fire flies! “Can we catch them?” he asked enthusiastically.

And so, last night, we did. We caught some. Put them in jars and watched them glow. But while we were catching them, my son came across a bee. And he started to become afraid. I could see it in his face. I could see it in his posture. He stood firm and began to shudder. And then my 4 1/2 year old daughter said to him “Remember the words: ‘Be still and know I am God. Remember the words.” My daughter trying to calm my son. It took my breathe away.

I began to think about it last night. Here they are, having fun. Catching fire flies (or glow beetles) and then something of fear strikes him. And he’s reminded about what I told them over a month ago “Be still and know that I am God.” Made me realize that I had a lot of fears right now.

I’ve moved from being a sole pastor to being what people are calling a senior pastor. Not sure if I’m comfortable with the title or not. I have a lot on my shoulders. A lot going on. A family I need to make sure settles in. A family that I need to lead and guide during this time of transition. I  am now the leader of a church that is moving forward and looking to me for leadership. I’m afraid.

And so, I have two choices: I can let my fear paralyze me or I can channel that fear, be still and know that he is God. It is he who is in control.

So I choose to be still. I choose to stop and be still. To come to him in prayer. To come to him in patient endurance. To come to him with all that is on my heart–my fears, my worries and my anxieties. And then be still and know that he is God.

Where do you need to be still today? Where do you need to rest in him? Do it. Be still and know that he is God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be still

  1. lt benton says:

    I have enjoyed your blog, particularly the 2 most recent ones.

Leave a Reply

