Feeling alive after dying

funeral lilyI attended a funeral yesterday for a woman who reached 106. I didn’t know her. I never met her. I heard a lot about her though. I heard about her humor. I heard about her strength. I heard about how even in her 90’s she still mowed her own lawn. I heard about how she persevered. How she lived a life as a strong teacher and a strong woman. She lived a life. Most importantly, she lived a life of faith. That is what was remembered most. Her faith.

As I sit and type her, I have my music playing, trying hard not to sing along or bang my head in the Wayne’s World fashion. I’m getting into the grove of sermonating and getting work done. But I’m also thinking about living. About living after dying.

What do I mean about this? About living after dying. To tell the truth, everyone dies but not everyone lives. I want to live. More than that, I want to do more than just live and survive, I want to thrive. I want to live and thrive.

But how? How does this happen? By dying. The only way to live, to truly live is to die. To die to your old self. What? Okay, now I must have you completely confused.

Jesus said, if you want to live, you need to die. You need to pick up your cross and follow him. If you want to live, you must let things die. You must let things in life die. You must let priorities in life die. You must make him the priority. Once you die to the things of life, let them lay dead. Let them be dead. And then you can truly live.

I still stumble with this. I still struggle with this. Back in April while it was still unusually cold, a cracked formed in my windshield of my car. Nothing huge, just straight across the bottom of the windshield. But it made me upset. It made me frustrated. And then my friend who was driving with me at the time the cracked formed reminded me about dying. He said “There’s nothing you can do about it. Let it be.”

When we live, we let things be. When we live, we let things that are not important be. We don’t sweat the petty things and don’t pet the sweaty things. Or something like that.

And I struggle with that still. I struggle with the living part and the dying part.

But I want to live. And in order to do that, I need to die.

I may not live to be 106 but I do know that I want to have a strong faith. I want to have a faith that exists. A faith that lives. A faith that is known. I want a faith that lets me move mountains in my life and lets me walk on water towards Jesus. I want a faith that makes me desperate to die to my self and live for Jesus.

Everyone dies, but not everyone lives. Do you want to live? I do.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

