A Hawaiian Shirt kinda day

Hawaiian Shirt day 2You ever have those days where you just feel like you need to take it easy. Like Bobby McFarlen’s song from 1988 “Don’t Worry, Be Happy” type of attitude. Today for me is a Hawaiian shirt kinda day. It’s a day where I need to feel like I just need to take it easy. To take time to rest, relax, take in things, to not worry but be happy. It is a day to be cheerful and know that God is God and he is in control.

A cheerful heart is good medicine” Proverbs 17:22

It is also a day to rest in Christ. A Hawaiian shirt day for me is a day in which I rest solely on Christ. Each day should be like that, I know, but on a Hawaiian shirt kinda day, I remind myself to do so. I remind myself to rest in Christ.

Jesus tells us

Come to me all who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28

There’s a lot going on. A lot happening right now. And I need to find that rest in Christ. I need to find that rest in knowing that Jesus is Lord. And so, it’s a Hawaiian shirt kinda day where I do just that. I take my weariness and my burdens to Jesus and know that he gives me that rest I so need.

Most importantly, I don’t want to miss the joy of his presence. On a Hawaiian shirt kinda day, I focus on his presence in my life and the joy he brings.

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.” Philippians 4:4-5

And so, on a Hawaiian shirt kinda day, I remind myself to rejoice always. I remind myself to find the joy of living for Jesus and finding rest in him.

So I hope you can have a Hawaiian shirt kinda day today. I hope you can find your rest and joy in Jesus today.

Rest. Rejoice. Wear a Hawaiian shirt to remember to do that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

