Serving

the banquest logoLast night we did something as a church that I love. We served. We served at The Banquet. The Banquet is a place in Sioux Falls that feeds the hungry. They feed the poor and the under employed. The feed all who come in who are hungry for both food and for company. Some people come because it’s the only place where they can find a hot meal.  Others come because they have to pay rent or eat but not both. Others come because they have no other place to go. Any way you cut it, it’s an amazing place.

And we served there last night. One of the things that got me was the fact that the guests (for they call all who come to eat guests) there were shocked when I called them “sir” or “ma’am” something that they don’t get on a regular basis. The other thing that got me was how many people said thank you to me for helping there. How many guests were there who said thank you when I poured them water or coffee.

One of the things that I emphasize in my sermons and in my ministry, is that we are to be the hands and feet of Jesus Christ. We are to be Christ to all we meet. And we who are followers of Jesus are called to feed the hungry and help the poor.

We can’t end poverty. The poor we will always have with us. We will always have the poor due to sinful natures, injustice and just plain bad things. This has been going on since time began. In fact in God’s law and in the prophets we hear a call to feed the hungry and help the poor. This is part and parcel of what it means to be a follower of Jesus.

And so, I say to my churches, continue to serve. I say to my fellow followers of Jesus, continue to serve. Be the hands and feet of Jesus.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

