Benny and the Jets

Tigerbarbe_Puntius_tetrazonaI’m not good with fish. For Christmas one year we got the kiddos a fish tank and let them pick out their fish. All died. So we bought more fish. They died. We bought a snail. Named it Bob. The snail was supposed to keep the tank clean. It died. We then bought another snail. It died as well. And then we bought even more fish. I found one type of fish that I liked the look of. The Tiger Barb (Puntius tetrazona). They are a schooling fish. So I bought three. Named them Larry, Moe and Curly. Larry and Moe died. So I bought three more. Then we had Larry, Moe, Curly and Shemp (Shemp is the fourth stooge…long story). Larry, Moe, and Shemp died. So I bought three more Tiger Barbs (I was determined to have some fish live. Seriously I was) named them Shadrach, Meschach and Abednego–Rack, Shack, and Benny for short. Rack and Shack died. All we have left is Benny.

And then my son noticed something. A small snail. A tiny snail. But a snail all the same. It had been over a year since the last snail died. Where’d the snail come from. And then we found a second snail. I named them Thing 1 and Thing 2. And then we found Thing 3 and Thing 4. Where were they coming from?? And then…then…we found numbers 5-9. 9 snails who mysteriously appeared in our fish tank.

Life happens. No matter how much death is around, life still happens. No matter how much dying, life still exists and has a way of persevering through it all. The only thing I can think of is that one of the snails was pregnant and laid a bunch of eggs before it died. Why we’re just seeing these snails now, I don’t know. But life happened. I named them Benny and the Jets.

We have an Elton John song going on in our fish tank now. Each time I look at it, I count the snails, hoping against hope that there’s not a number 10 in there somewhere we’re not seeing.

Life happens. It happens all around us. It happens in places we least expect it. And it makes me marvel at things. It makes me agape at the things around me. That life. Life persists despite us.

God has created amazing things. He’s created these snails. These snails that exist despite the circumstances. They are still living despite me. And I marvel at their life.

And so, I continue to watch what good things God will create and make. Benny is still living. Feel sorry for the poor guy. He’s a schooling fish and best with other fish of the same type of fish. Maybe one day I’ll get some more. I’m just frightened that I’ll kill them somehow. But somehow I think the snails will prevail.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Benny and the Jets

  1. Pingback: Death of a Disciple | Spiritual Musclehead

  2. Pingback: Death of a Disciple | Spiritual Musclehead

Leave a Reply

