Holy Week–Wednesday

I’ve always wondered if they had coffee back in Jesus’ day. Coffee comes from near that area. I don’t know if it was around back then or not. From what I understand it was discovered during the crusades. I’m not sure. But one thing I do know is that come Wednesday, I need extra coffee.

I’ve completed my Maundy Thursday message for this week and am working on my Easter message. I’m doing communion at the local assisted living home and will be having meetings and Bible studies through the day.

Needless to say, there’s a busyness to Wednesday. Was Jesus’ Wednesday during Holy Week this busy? Or did he continue to teach and preach in the temple courts? He was there daily we read. So he must have been there on a Wednesday.

How does my Wednesday compare to his? Not much. He wins. He’s busier than I. He has an agenda that must be completed by Friday. He must die on Friday. And he has just a few more days to go.

No wonder he prayed as he did in the Garden of Gethsemane. He had so much on his mind, on his heart. On himself. I could never do that. I could never do what he did.

So my busyness today isn’t as much of a problem as it may look from the beginning.

So I strive to the goal. I know that Maundy Thursday is coming up. But Easter is just a few days away. Jesus knew that though he would die on Friday, he’d be raised again on Sunday.

I know my savior lives. And this busyness is small compared to him and what he has in store for me.

How busy are you today?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

