A day of rest

Not much to say but that I had a good day of rest. I think this is what’s needed. A rest. We weren’t made to work and work and work and work. We’ve been made to be at rest. In fact, when God made the heavens and the earth, when he made everything, he didn’t put on a pot of coffee and got at it some more, he rested.

And we’re made for rest. We’re not made to be on the go all the time. And I think this is a spiritual issue more than anything else. We have this idea that if we work hard enough, we’ll accomplish what we want to accomplish, have what we want to have, do what we want to do. And we’ll work as hard as we can to get it too. I used to say that something worked for is something earned. That if I work for something, I can earn it. My grandmother used to always say “If you have time to lean, you have time to clean.” In other words, you need to keep working.

And this constantly needing to keep working is what’s driven me. But then I began to learn the need to slow down. The need to stop and rest. And I don’t do it enough.

And so I started to make a “to-not-to-do list.” A list of things that I really don’t need to stress over, a list of things that I really don’t need to do all the time. Sadly, this blog wound up on the “to-not-to-do list.” Not because I don’t like it, but because the world will not end if I don’t blog every day. It was driving me nuts that I didn’t have something awesome to say each day. And I worked hard at it. And I thank you for your readership. (Especially you. You’re awesome. You know who you are).

Today, I took a day of rest for the first time in a long while. I went to the river and just rested. A friend of mine put some fishing poles up and we sat and chatted and let the fish nibble leisurely on the lures. I rested from work. I rested from being worried about my thyroid and my up coming surgery. I rested from my worries and wearies. I actually rested and did nothing but “fish.” (And even then, I use that term loosely even though we did catch one cat fish.)

It was a good day of rest.

So, I suggest to you to get some rest. To take time to do nothing. That’s right, nothing. Make a “to-not-to-do list” and keep at it. Make sure you scratch things off when you don’t do it. Take time to step aside from this busy world and sigh and scratch and be. Don’t let the business of this place get in your way of being human. Because, as Lily Tomlin once said, at the end of the rat race, you’re still a rat.

So, take time. Rest. You can do it. The world will still exist if you step away from it for a moment or five.

What are ways that you’ve been able to find rest?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

