Fear is a noun

As we learned from School House Rocks, a noun is a person place or thing. Fear is a thing. Fear is real. It is something that can grip us tightly. It is something that can prevent us from moving forward. It is something that can stop us from doing something new. It can stop us in our tracks and make us cower in a corner looking for our happy place.

Fear is real. And when we’re afraid, there’s nothing worse. There’s nothing worse when it grips you tightly and it doesn’t want to let you go. It’s like a rash that just won’t go away (too much? Probably).

I experienced a lot of fear these last few weeks. I’ve experienced the fear of the “what ifs” and the “what could bes”. I asked so many questions of myself. I asked so many questions of God. I wondered and I pondered. I tried looking for the upsides. But fear kept making me look at the down sides. I tried thinking of the positives but ol’ fear came in and pointed out the negatives.

Be afraid. Be very afraid.

But then I stop. And I remember something.

For God has not given you a spirit of fear and timidity, but of power, love and self discipline. 2 Timothy 1:7 (NLT)

I shouldn’t be afraid. I was given a spirit of power, of love, of self discipline (yes, I know I that’s what it says, but it’s good to repeat sometimes). Yes. I can do this.

Be I’m still a scared.

Then I read these words

You are my hiding place; you will protect me from trouble and surround me with songs of deliverance. Psalm 32:7

So, it’s okay to be scared. It’s okay to have fear. Just don’t let the fear take over. Don’t let the fear have power. Don’t let the fear be the primary thing. I need to remind myself that fear is part of things. But God is willing to be the place where I hide to. And the place where I’ll be reassured.

And so, in my fear, I run to him. In my fear I know that I have been given a spirit of power and love. I know that I can do this thing.

Fear is a noun. It’s a person, place, or thing. But it has no control over me. Even when I’m afraid, I know that it’s still just a noun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

