Donde Estas Corazon?

“My heart’s just not into it.” That was my response when my physical therapist scolded me once again…er…I mean kindly reprimanded me once again about not doing my exercises like I needed to. I know I need to do them. I know they’re important. I feel the difference when I do them compared to when I don’t. But my heart’s just not in it. I don’t know why either. Just two months ago I was all gun ho into it and doing it regularly. And now, now I just haven’t been.

I think part of it was that I wanted to be done by now. I wanted to have had my knee healed by now so I could go back out and go hiking once again. To go back out and hike some of those trails I’ve been wanting to go on. I want to go back to the Bad Lands once again and hike the Notch Trail once again. I want to reconquer it. I want that thing to go down. I want to own it like never before. But in order to do that, I need to own my PT exercises. And I just haven’t.

I think we do that a lot. We have dry spells. We have spells where our hearts are just not in it. And that’s tough. It’s tough because it’s important to us to do what needs to be done.

In being healthy–physically, emotionally, and spiritually–it’s important to keep at it, to keep on keeping on. And yet, my heart’s just not in it like it was. Maybe when school starts up again and I have to be up early to help get the kiddos ready then I’ll be into it again. I don’t know.

But I think we tell ourselves that as well. We tell ourselves that we’ll get back into something once this or that happens. We place a lot of hope onto something that has no basis to receive our hope.

I think that’s where we lose heart. We keep placing our hope in the wrong thing to keep us keeping on.

Instead, we need to place our hope in the one thing, the one person who is, was and always will be. Yeah, you guessed it. No brainer where I’m going with this one, right?

“He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary and young men stumble and fall.” Yeah. that’s sounds about right for me right now with PT. Does that sound about right for you too right now? I bet so.

And then in our tiredness, in our weakness, in our “heart-just-not-in-it-ness” we hear this promise “But those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.”

I think that’s a good promise for me. I thought about that yesterday morning when I did my PT exercises for the first time in a while. Felt good. And now I gotta keep it up.

He gives you strength not just for physical things, but for mental and spiritual issues as well. What’re you going through right now? Where are you losing heart? Bring it to Him. Place your hope not in things, not in events, not on Monday and then you’ll start up (guilty) but place it in the Lord.

Now, it might be hard at first, but do it with me. Place your hope in him and ask that he renew your strength, that he helps you get your heart back into doing it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

