In the morning

There’s something about waking up early. Earlier than everyone else in the house. Earlier before the hustle and bustle, the get the kids out the door and get to work in time.

I was up early this morning. The house quiet. Opting not to make a fresh pot of coffee, I did a reheat made of coffee left from the day before. Not my brightest choice, but again, it was early. My mind still a bit hazy from sleep, a bit groggy from waking up and being part of the world around me.

I’ve been waking up early a lot lately. And I’ll say this, it’s changed my day completely. When I’d wake up later, just in time to get up and rush the kids around with breakfast, getting dressed and out the door, I’m able to do my PT exercises, ice my knee, enjoy a quiet breakfast and most importantly of all, pray.

I’ve mentioned on here a number of times just how important prayer is. How important it is to our spiritual health. It’s that quiet in the morning that helps me focus. That helps me keep my mind on one thing. My prayers to God.

Prayer within it self isn’t for God, it’s for us. It’s to help us see God in motion. It’s to help us lean upon his will. It’s to help us hear his voice in our lives. And he sounds a lot clearer in the early morning than he does in the hustle and bustle if I even get a chance at all.

I like how Psalm 90 puts it, asking God to be present in prayer in the morning

Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days. Psalm 90:14

So take time and start your day a bit earlier. You’ll be a bit tired at first, but more calm. And start it with prayer, you’ll have more of a connection with God during the rest of the day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

