I’m off the pill!

Yeah, I thought that might get your attention. Recently they took me off of my ADD meds (and by they I mean the psychiatrist and by psychiatrist I don’t mean crazy doctor. This isn’t One Flew over the Cuckoo’s Nest ya know or Arkahm Asylum) and so now my ADD is a bit more, shall we say, not restricted. Now, one thing about ADD I want to point out, it is not a mood disorder but a cognitive one. That is it is called a tier 3 disorder, below mood and personality disorders. It affects cognitive thinking rather than moods. It still gets in the way of everyday life that’s for sure. That’s not to say that it is less important than depression, etc, but instead it is just a different classification.

So what does this mean for me?

  • My filter’s gone for one thing. Filter? Yeah, that thing that stops your inside voice from becoming your outside voice. I’m not talking about talking and yelling. I’m talking about the things you think become the things you say as you say them. This is what happens when you don’t have a filter. ADD. Yippee! You think it and you say it at the same time.
  • I’m a lot more imp…sorry.. watching Top Gear USA on History Channel and got distracted.
  • I’m also a lot more impulsive and distractable (I’m pretty sure that’s a word). I can have a conversation and in the middle of the conversation I’ll go and do something while I’m talking and then wonder why I did that and then try to remember what I was just talking about. There are times where I have to stop and remember what I’m writing.
  • And there’s something else but I forge

And so I’m working at being in control of the ADD and not let the ADD get in control of me. I’m working on being structured and paying attention to what I’m doing and saying. It’s going to be tough but we’ll see how it goes. Check out my other blog Jacob’s Limp as I look my life, ministry, ADD and the Holy Spirit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

