Addiction Watchers (for Me[n])

5 months and 30lbs later, I’m back on to Weight Watchers (for Men). Back in July of last year, as a birthday present from my mom (very supportive, really, no sarcasm on this one. Very supportive) I started Weight Watchers (for Men). I lost 25lbs on pure caloric restriction alone. I had a nasty ear infection, a nasty cold which then turned into walking pneumonia and couldn’t exercise (sad how many posts I’ve done about these things). So, just by watching what I ate and entering it into my iPhone app (yes, that does sound pretentious, I know. But anything having to do with Apple always sounds a bit pretentious) I lost weight.

And then life happened. To save money, I went off of Weight Watchers (for Men). I thought I could do it on my own. I really did. And then more life happened. And I started emotionally eating. And then I beat myself up for emotionally eating which led to more emotional eating. And then stressors started popping up and I ate even more. Which then caused the vicious cycle to go round once again.

Two weeks ago, I was diagnosed with an eating disorder. I am addicted to food. Much like an alcoholic or drug addict, I am an addict when it comes to food. My drug of choice: chocolate. And lots of it. Oh, and the girl scout cookies Samoas. They’re like the McRib of awesome. You only get them once a year and when you do, you can’t get enough.

So I thought I could once again do it myself. Just a few days into it, I realized I couldn’t. And so I started up on Weight Watchers once again.

I’ll be honest, it was hard to put my weight into the website. It was the same weight I weighed back in July. I felt like a loser, a wash up, a mess up. And my first reaction was to go and eat another bowl of cereal. But then I realized I’d have to put that into my app. And I didn’t want to.

So, I’m going to do this once again. I no longer have walking pneumonia. I no longer have my bad ear infection. My knee still hurts, but I’m going to handle that one later.

I’m going to do this. By the grace of God I AM going to do this!

I can do all things through Him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:13

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

