Hey! Teacher…

I’ve been reading through the book of Ecclesiastes recently. It’s an odd book which has an old Birds song in it (well, actually the Birds took it from this section.. you know the song “To everything turn turn turn?? Okay, it’s older than me and I know it… yea, never mind.. moving on). The book of Ecclesiastes is a small book of wisdom in the Old Testament of the Bible. They name is based off of the Latin word for “teaching.” In fact, the very first words of the book are “The words of the Teacher.” It is a book to learn from.

And I am learning from it.

Two verses have really hit me recently

Better one handful with tranquility than two handfuls with toil and chasing after the wind. Ecclesiastes 4:6

If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up! Ecclesiastes 4:10

Wow. For me, reading these I started to wonder: How much have I been chasing after the wind. I’ve put to much on my shoulders lately, I know that. I’ve had a lot going on lately, I know that.

But I had two handfuls of toil chasing after the wind because I so wanted that tranquility, I so wanted that peace. And if I worked hard enough in taking care of what I had to take care of then everything would be fine.. right? No. It hasn’t been. It isn’t. And I keep chasing after the wind anyways.

And here’s the thing, if someone falls how can I help pick them up if both my hands are full of toil?

Lately people keep telling me that I’m not alone, that I don’t have to do it all myself. And I agreed and then tried doing it myself anyway. It wasn’t that I didn’t have anyone available to help me up, I wasn’t allowing anyone to help me up. “Pity the man” (I can just hear Mr. T’s voice saying that too.. I pity the man who doesn’t let his friend pick him up”). And now, I’m working on my personal health.

My lesson learned so far: Let go. Let go one handful. I’m trying to grab with two hands what I can easily have with one. And when I fall I can have someone to help me up as I too am able to help someone else up with my free hand.

My prayer for myself tomorrow–Do not chase after the wind with two hands full of toil but work on the one handful of tranquility, allowing others to help me up. Now I actually have to do this too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hey! Teacher…

  1. Terry DeBoer says:

    Yes…. well said. Grabbing too tightly to a handful of toil may lead to a fistful of thorns.

    (By the way – its The Byrds – “Turn, Turn, Turn” – Roger McGuinn and David Crosby shone on this folk-tune also sung by legendary folkie Pete Seeger.

  2. Pingback: Walk softly | Jacob's Limp

Leave a Reply

