The journey

Someone referenced Psalm 4 to me today. They said how much it meant to them. Later this evening, I went and read the Psalm. And the first words struck me:

Answer me when I call to you, O my righteous God. Give me relief from my distress; be merciful to me and hear my prayer.

Things have been tough for a number of months. And some things I’ve blogged about. But other things I haven’t and I’m not going to. To tell the truth, I don’t put everything in life up on this thing. For one, well, because I don’t want to and two, well, I don’t want internet archeologists 300 years from now finding this blog while searching for the fabled lost social networking site MySpace (no, seriously, it does exist).

I am right now taking time for myself working on my emotional health. One thing I found out today is that a med I’ve been taking has been making me gain weight…so I’m not fully to blame for it (just part of it…I hope). But I’ve also looked at how I see things.

I know some years back I said these very words (well, not the exact ones but pretty much the same) through my own tears. I’ve gone through a lot over the years. And I’ve seen God work through them. To tell the truth, in these last number of months, I’ve never prayed so much, I’ve never leaned on God so much as I have been right now. My prayers have become deeper, more meaningful, fuller and pleading.

As I was reading, these verses then hit me:

Know that the Lord has set apart the godly for himself; the Lord will hear when I call.

I’ve been calling on him a lot lately. I’ve been calling on him each and every day. I’ve been calling on him every moment. I like the fact that David here says that the Lord will hear when I call. Even though I’ve been going through what I’ve been going through, I still know that God hears me. That He answers me. That He is there for me.

And so, I am working on my health. I am safe and secure in Christ. I know to whom I belong. I know that in Him I am complete. I know that He is answering me when I call on Him and He is with me as I make this journey of healing and health.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

