B2TW Prayer (warning on language)

A classmate from seminary and a buddy of mine is a pastor now in New Jersey. Back in October, while he was still up pastoring a church in South Dakota, he and his wife found out that his wife had bladder cancer. They were in a transitional period. They were between two churches. He accepted a call and was between leaving and arriving when the news came.

And so they prayed. They prayed and read scripture. It was tough for them. Very tough. And they amazed me by their prayer. They set up a Caring Bridge site (click here to pray for them) and I’ve been following it every post they give.

Back in October, I posted on my buddies Facebook wall that I was praying for him. I told him it wasn’t just a “I’m praying for you” and then not really do it. I told him it was a balls to the wall prayer. An intense prayer that I was lifting he and his wife in my prayers.

And since then, we joke about balls to the wall prayer or B2TW prayer.

When he and I joke about it, we refer to intense prayers. Prayers so intense that you don’t know what to say and so you lift your whole being up to God. This is a prayer that when our very being cannot even express what we’re feeling or know exactly what to pray, we still pray.

The Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. Romans 8:26

B2TW Prayer is intense prayer for intense times. It is that type of prayer where all you can truly do is lean upon the Holy Spirit, lean upon him as hard as you can. It is a time of prayer where you place yourself solely in the arms of Christ, knowing that he is caring you through these times. These are intense prayers that make us totally and completely dependent on God for all that he is and all that he can do.

One of the things I’ve learned is that in intense times in my life is when I pray the most. I’ve noticed that during intense times in my life is when I read my Bible the most.

So, when someone you know is going through a tough time or even just something that’s been bugging them, don’t say “I’ll pray for you.” No. Instead come to God in prayer. Come to him in intense prayer. Come to him in B2TW prayers.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

