Making a To Not to Do List

I’ve taken on a lot more than I thought I have. I’m not sure when it happened but it did. And then I dropped it all at the beginning of November/end of October. I just couldn’t do it all. I had so many aspirations that I wanted to do. I had so many things that I thought I could take on.

I had been teaching myself guitar. I was trying to still workout even with a bum leg. I’ve been taking care of my kids while my wife’s been recuperating. I’ve been pushing hard at staying in prayer with God, in reading the Bible. I’ve picked up books that I want to read and have started reading but not fully finished. I’ve tried to follow up on things I wanted to do but hadn’t yet.

And I began to get burnt out.

My stress was getting the best of me. I’m tired. Very tired. I’m not able to do what I wanted to do. And so I began to make a To Not to Do list. I’ve whittled it down to just a few things. Sadly, I’ve had to put off learning to play the guitar. I really want to learn, but right now I don’t have the time. I wanted to blog every day but haven’t been and so am slowly getting back into it. There are some great books out there but I haven’t had time to read them. I’m slowly working my way through a Star Wars book Darkness Rising a few chapters at a time before I go to bed at night.

I’ve put off watching TV shows I like to watch so I can have more time with my kiddos. Sadly, I’ve been putting off exercising as much as I used to because I’ve been so tired I haven’t been waking up early enough to go exercise and my days been pretty full with work to go during the day.

And so, my To Not To Do list has grown while my To Do List has shrunk. And I like it that way. I’ve felt a burden taken off of my shoulders. And it feels nice. Some things I’ll add back in over time while I take other things out. But until then, I’m trying to stick to my To Not to Do List.

Have you made a To Not To Do List? What is on it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

