Toillette prayers

This is an odd post. I know. But honestly, it’s something that’s been, well, stinking in the back of my brain. I’m not trying to use potty humor here but to be honest, I’ve been doing a lot of prayer at one of my most private moments. Maybe it’s the fact that my kids do leave me alone for the most part when I come to the porcelain altar. Maybe it’s become a time to confess my sins and let them leave my soul in a very visceral way.

This morning during my…er…morning constitutionals, I realized that I do some of my most earnest and personal prayers to God. Maybe it’s the fact that at that moment I’m at my most vulnerable and defenseless place. It might be the fact that I actually have  a moment to pray.

To be honest, I’m not even going to advertise this on Facebook or Twitter. People know I’m weird but that’s just a bit weird. And if you stumbled upon this post, either you’re an avid reader (or were after this post) or you did a search for toilette prayers. Which most likely means you’ve been thinking about the same thing.

At the same time, I also wonder if people truly realize that Jesus was completely human. He is as much human as he is divine. And so the Word incarnate, the savior of all people was human. That means he ate. That means he drank. That means he had to go #1 and #2 to put it nicely. And I doubt it smelled like roses.

As I approach the throne of God while on the porcelain throne, I lift up my prayers honestly because I truly am vulnerable. And I leave my fears, worries and confessed sin as well.

Sorry for the weird post, but sometimes you truly need to think of the true human nature and how we are physically tied to Christ as we are spiritually.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

