Mourning Prayers

I’ll be honest with you, I’m not sure if I’ve fully been doing what I’ve been saying ought to be done when it comes to health. Things have been rough around our household lately and the people at church have been so wonderful bringing over food and desserts and all sorts of help. But when you eat two pumpkin pies (two really frakin’ good pumpkin pies) in the course of a week, there’s a problem. A big problem. It’s called emotional eating. It got so bad that I was afraid to talk to my Weight Watchers App about what was going on, as if it’d get mad at me or something like some deranged Marine Corps drill sergeant or something (I wonder if there’s an app for that?). But it didn’t get mad at me, in fact, the app said “You know what, you gained some weight. If you know why you did, then try to alter things this week. If you don’t know why you did, then recheck your food logs and see what might be changed.” Uhm, hello, how about two pumpkin pies in a week. That might be an issue.

But what I realized I hadn’t been doing at first was praying. And in fact, I started to mourn my prayers. I didn’t realize how much I needed to pray. Now, I’m not talking about the whole “Rub-a-dub-dub thanks for the grub” type of prayers. I mean the full on, knees on the ground (or in my case with the bum knee, keister in the seat) bent over praying. And I’ve been doing that. I’ve doing it so much I’m about to count it as an activity point for reverse situps or something.

As things have been going on around me, my prayers have gotten deeper. My prayers have gotten more bold. My prayers have gone from could you, would you to being “Sovereign God, I trust in what you can do and I know that I am asking boldly that you do this because I know you are so powerful that even the sun can stand still because of prayer.” I also know that “no” and “wait” are answers to prayer as well.

I mourned my prayer life. And now my prayers have come up in the morning, in the afternoon, when I’m driving, when I’m walking, when I’m going to bed and at the oddest times. And I’ve been praying and praying and praying. This is the most exhaustive spiritual exercising I’ve ever done in my life and it is exhausting and fulfilling all at the same time.

How about you. What is your prayer life like? Are you mourning it? Are you putting it through the rigors of a strong workout?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mourning Prayers

  1. Alan says:

    I just happened to be looking through some blogs I hadn’t visited in awhile and came upon this post. Such a timely message for me. I too have been letting my prayer life falter, but shall endeavor to engage with God once again. Thanks so much for this post. I’ll be praying for your family over the next couple days.

Leave a Reply

