Breathe on me, breath of God

I know I keep going back to the Bad Lands, but I truly did experience a few things there that have helped me out these last few weeks. And I know down the road, it’ll fade. That’s how these experiences go. Even Moses who met God at the burning bush, who met God repeatedly, after a while had that experience fade as he entered into the every day homdrums of leading a multitude of people who were kinda spoiled brats in many ways.

But Moses endured, he soldiered through it. Why? Because he encountered God daily. God was present. As I stood on that mountain top, the wind was whipping all around me. I sat down, looked over the edge of forever and breathed in the air. The wind was strong into my lungs, the walking pneumonia but a memory by then. And I breathed in the air. That word for wind in Hebrew is ruach (roo-ach). It means wind but it also means breath. In Genesis 2 when God formed Adam, he breathed that ruach into Adam.

In the New Testament, the word for the Holy Spirit comes to us from the same word for breath. In fact, it’s where we get the word pneumonia from. It’s pnuema (pronounced nooma). In the New Testament the Holy Spirit is referred to as not only the Holy Spirit, the hagias puenma, the Holy Breath, but also the Spirit of Jesus or the breath, Jesus’ Breath.

Last week, on that windy Friday, I hobbled along, cane in hand, leg immobilizer strapped on and hiked the trail and felt the wind, the ruach, the pneuma on my face. And I breathed it in.

There’s this hymn Breathe on me, Breath of God that says it all to me.

Dude, I’m thinking I’m getting way to deep with way to little caffeine in me.

Part of being healthy is being healthy emotionally and spiritually. You cannot truly be able to be physically healthy if you’re also struggling emotionally and spiritually. We are all one wrapped up into this weird package of peanuts, caramel and chocolate…wait, that’s a Snickers bar. But it’s pretty much the same thing.

And so, now, when stressed, when worried, when my anxieties get the worst of me, when my strength isn’t enough, when my back tenses up and my jaw clenches due to the stressors of life, I’ve started to stop and breath.

“O Wind of God, come bend us, break us, till humbly we confess our need; then in Thy tenderness remake us, revive, restore–for this we plead.”

Are you stressed, are you struggling, do you need to be refreshed, do you need the Wind of God to be breathed upon you. Stop. Breathe. Pray. Ask God, by the power of His Holy Spirit, to give you the strength you need, physically, emotionally and spiritually.

“Come to me all who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find est for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light” –Jesus

This entry was posted in emotional health, health, Jesus, physical health, spiritual health, spirituality, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

