The Force of Comfort–part 2

Over the weekend, I was pondering what was written in The Force of Comfort. I felt that I left it, well, a bit hanging. Part of it is that there’s so much to write and so little room in the blog to really do so. I mean, I want to go in depth, but at the same time, am I going to loose you in doing so? Yeah. Not sure if I want to find out the hard way.

But seriously, part of the reason why I started this blog was to look at physical, emotional and spiritual health. And as I’ve been thinking of Luke, boy is that boy screwed up in many ways. He was an orphan never really knowing his dad nor did his Uncle Owen even want to talk about him. And then he looses his aunt and uncle to Storm Troopers. Talk about survivors’ guilt. If he hadn’t of run off after R2D2 he could have been there with them. He would have been dead.

Then his father, who is the scourge of the galaxy, the Darth of it all, dies. Talk about father issues. His only true father figure dies. And then his own father kills to protect him (and Lucas, did we really need that “Noooooo“?)

In The Empire Strikes Back, Luke faces his darkest fears in the Cave in Dagobah. He meets Darth Vader. This is all before he knows that the this Sith master is his father. And he sees himself in his greatest enemy.

Last time, I spoke about comfort. I’m realizing that comfort is one thing Luke didn’t have. He didn’t have an only comfort in life and in death. In fact, even being all blue and sparkly didn’t bring comfort.

There’s something that we learn from that Heidelberg Catechism I mentioned last time.

He has fully paid for all my sins with his precious blood, and has set me free from the tyranny of the devil. He also watches over me in such a way that not a hair can fall from my head without the will of my Father in heaven: in fact, all things must work together for my salvation.

Luke faced his demons in that Cave in Dagobah. Before he even knew what his demons were, he had to face them to move on. We have to face our demons. In facing our own demons, we seek comfort. That comfort is found in Jesus. And we know how we get that comfort. Not from Yoda, not from the Force, but because of what Jesus did.

When we know this, we can attack our demons head on in our own Caves, we can attack them as we physically fight off our cravings and push forward in being healthy. We can fight in our Caves knowing that as we fight for emotional health, we can be victorious because of Jesus. And because of Jesus, we are victorious in all things.

Where, O Death, is your victory? Where, O Death, is your sting? The sting of death is sin…But thanks be to God! He gives us the victory through our Lord Jesus Christ. 1 Corinthians 55-47

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

