Sun burns and Krabby Pattys

I’m trying real hard to be thankful for having a sun burn. Yeah, that’s right. Trying to be hard being thankful for a sun burn. Why, you ask? I really don’t know. It’s 9pm at night while I write this and it’s 85 out right now. I spent a wonderful, fun filled day yesterday with our church’s youth group at a water park. I came home tired, smelling like chlorine and redder than Sponge Bob’s boss at the Krusty Krab.

What I don’t get about sun burns is that people look at you in all your red lobsterness (an yes, I know Mr. Krabs is acrab) and ask “You have a sun burn, huh?” Maybe it’s just the body rushing blood away from my brain to heal the skin but the first thing I want to usually say is “What was your first clue, Captain Obvious?” …which I don’t say but sometimes I really really really do.

Being the nerd that I am, I went on WebMd today to look up sun burns (which was better than my first choice, Wikipedia, but Wikipedia had cooler pictures). Apparently I even chagned my DNA with the sun or something like that. Cool. Sadly, I won’t be able to climb walls like spider man or shoot beams out of my eyes like Cyclops. But still, cool, my skin had a chemical reaction of red awesome yesterday.

But it still hurts. Like ouch hurts.

Maybe I can be thankful that I can peel the skin next week…or did I just gross you out. Sorry.. I think it’s a guy thing.

I could be thankful that now I can get out of mowing the lawn tomorrow like I said I would…wait, no, because I can wear a long sleeve shirt and quit my belly aching.

When I was a kid and we’d get wicked bad burns, we’d slather on aloe vera gel and lay in front of a fan and fall asleep. That sounds nice. An excuse to take a nap. Wish I thought of that earlier today.

Well, so far I haven’t thought of anything to be thankful for in regards to having a sun burn. I’m gonna go read my manga now and rest.

How’re ways you can be thankful for something like a sun burn that might be hard to be thankful for. Share it and let me know, I’d like to try it for my sun burn.

This entry was posted in graditude, Krabby Pattys, Mr. Krabs, spirituality, sun burn, thankfulness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

